Researchers

Are you looking for more information or interested in cooperation? Contact us!

Project management

Ville-Pekka Sorsa

DPhil, Economic Geography

Project Leader
(Principal Investigator)

Research Director
Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Helsinki

ville-pekka.sorsa@helsinki.fi

+358 294124559

Liina-Kaisa Tynkkynen

PhD, Health and Social Policy 

Project Co-Leader
(Co-Principal Investigator)

Assistant Professor,
Tampere University;
Research Manager,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare

liina-kaisa.tynkkynen@tuni.fi

liina-kaisa.tynkkynen@thl.fi

+358 401901675

+358 505279478

Pinja Lehtonen

DSocSc, International Politics

Interaction and Communications Leader

Demos Helsinki

pinja.lehtonen@demoshelsinki.fi

+358 456703838

Legitimacy

Kaijus Ervasti

LLD, Law

Leading Researcher
The experiences of older people and people living with dementia during COVID-19

Professor
Center of Law and Welfare,
University of Eastern Finland

kaijus.ervasti@uef.fi

Laura Kalliomaa-Puha

PhD, Social Welfare Law

Leading Researcher
The perceptions of social and health care professionals during COVID-19

Professor
Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University

laura.kalliomaa-puha@tuni.fi

Anna Mäki-Petäjä-Leinonen

LLD, Law

Leading Researcher
The experiences of older people and people living with dementia during COVID-19

Professor
Center of Law and Welfare,
University of Eastern Finland

anna.maki-petaja-leinonen@uef.fi

Mervi Issakainen

DSocSc, Social Psychology

Researcher
The experiences of older people and people living with dementia during COVID-19

Center of Law and Welfare,
University of Eastern Finland

mervi.issakainen@uef.fi

+358 503312534

Johanna Vuorelma

PhD, Politics and International Studies

Researcher
Authority and trust during the COVID-19 pandemic in Finland 

Centre for European Studies,
University of Helsinki

johanna.vuorelma@helsinki.fi

Satu Ylinen

PhD, Social Work

Researcher
The ethical questions of gerontological social work 

Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University

satu.ylinen@tuni.fi

Tyyne Ylinen

MSocSc, Social Work

Researcher
The perceptions of social and health care professionals during COVID-19

Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University

tyyne.ylinen@tuni.fi

Vera Ylinen

BSocSc, Sociology

Research Assistant
The experiences of elderly care professionals during the COVID-19 pandemic 

Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University

vera.ylinen@tuni.fi

Tools

Eeva Nykänen

LLD, Law

Leading researcher
Comparative analysis on the tools for governing pandemics

Team Leader,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare;
Professor,
University of Eastern Finland

eeva.r.nykanen@thl.fi

Ilmo Keskimäki

DMedSc, Public Health

Leading researcher
Health services and systems research

Research Professor,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare;
Professor,
Tampere University

ilmo.keskimaki@thl.fi

+358 295247256

Maija Dahlberg

LLD, Law

Researcher
Legal, especially constitutional questions related to the COVID-19 pandemic

Law School,
University of Eastern Finland

maija.dahlberg@uef.fi

+358 504423352

Henna Paananen

MSc, Administrative Sciences

Researcher
Interactive governance in times of pandemics

Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University
(from August 1st, 2022)

henna.paananen@tuni.fi

Liina-Kaisa Tynkkynen

PhD, Health and Social Policy

Researcher
Health system resilience and crises preparedness

Assistant Professor,
Tampere University;
Research Manager,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare

liina-kaisa.tynkkynen@tuni.fi

liina-kaisa.tynkkynen@thl.fi

+358 401901675

+358 505279478

Ideas

Liina-Kaisa Tynkkynen

PhD, Health and Social Policy 

Leading Researcher
Health system resilience and crises preparedness

Assistant Professor,
Tampere University;
Research Manager,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare

liina-kaisa.tynkkynen@tuni.fi

liina-kaisa.tynkkynen@thl.fi

+358 401901675

+358 505279478

Kari Jalonen

DSc, (Econ.), Management Science; MSc (Tech.)

Leading Researcher
The dialogue between different perspectives on the pandemic

Research Area Lead
Demos Helsinki

kari.jalonen@demoshelsinki.fi

+358 405801967

Ville-Pekka Sorsa

DPhil, Economic Geography

Leading Researcher
The role of ideas in the governance of the COVID-19 pandemic

Research Director
Faculty of Social Sciences,
University of Helsinki 

 

ville-pekka.sorsa@helsinki.fi

+358 294124559

Antti Alaja

MSocSc, Political Science

Researcher
Policy ideas that have been deployed during the COVID-19 pandemic

Faculty of Social Sciences,
University of Helsinki

antti.alaja@helsinki.fi

+358 401952041

Timo Harjuniemi

PhD, Media and Communication Studies

Researcher
The role of the media in pandemic governance

Demos Helsinki

timo.harjuniemi@demoshelsinki.fi

Ilmo Keskimäki

DMedSc, Public Health

Researcher
Health services and systems research

Research Professor,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare;
Professor,
Tampere University

ilmo.keskimaki@thl.fi

+358 295247256

Laura Kihlström

PhD, Applied Anthropology; MPH, Public Health; MSc, Agroecology

Researcher
Governance and decision-making in Finland during COVID-19

Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare

laura.kihlstrom@thl.fi

+358 295248370

Katja Kivikoski

Master's Student, Social and Public Policy

Research assistant
The role of ideas in the governance of the COVID-19 pandemic

Faculty of Social Sciences,
University of Helsinki

katja.kivikoski@helsinki.fi

Anna-Aurora Kork

DSc, Administrative Sciences

Researcher
The utilization of knowledge and ideas in pandemic governance from the perspective of interactive governance

Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University

anna.kork@tuni.fi

Henna Paananen

MSc, Administrative Sciences

Researcher
Interactive governance in times of pandemics

Faculty of Social Sciences,
Tampere University
(from August 1st, 2022)

henna.paananen@tuni.fi

Practices

Harri Jalonen

PhD, Information and Knowledge Management

Leading Researcher
The Finnish administration’s capacity to develop solutions transcending administrative boundaries for the governance of future pandemics

Professor
School of Management,
University of Vaasa

harri.jalonen@uwasa.fi

+358 449074964

Jari Autioniemi

DSc (Adm.), MSc (Soc.), Social and Health Management

Researcher
Situational awareness of the Finnish administration during the COVID-19 pandemic

School of Management,
University of Vaasa

jari.autioniemi@uwasa.fi

Kari Jalonen

DSc, (Econ.), Management Science; MSc (Tech.)

Researcher
The evolution of organizational collaboration over time

Research Area Lead
Demos Helsinki

kari.jalonen@demoshelsinki.fi

+358 405801967

Ilmo Keskimäki

DMedSc, Public Health

Researcher
Health services and systems research

Research Professor,
Finnish Institute for Health and Welfare;
Professor,
Tampere University

ilmo.keskimaki@thl.fi

+358 295247256

Juha Lindell

DSc, Administrative Sciences

Researcher
The Finnish administration’s capacity to develop solutions transcending administrative boundaries for the governance of future pandemics

School of management,
Vaasa University

juha.lindell@uwasa.fi

Ville-Pekka Niskanen

MSc, Environmental Sciences

Researcher
Abilities of societies to anticipate, cope with and adapt to sudden changes such as the COVID-19 pandemic

School of Management,
University of Vaasa

ville-pekka.niskanen@uwasa.fi

+358 294498623

Patrik Nordin

PhD, Sociology

Researcher
Applying system and complexity theory in the research of pandemic governance

Assistant Professor
School of Management,
University of Vaasa

patrik.nordin@uwasa.fi

Hanna-Kaisa Pernaa

DSc (Adm.)

Researcher
The Finnish administration’s capacity to develop solutions transcending administrative boundaries for the governance of future pandemics

Assistant Professor
School of Management,
University of Vaasa

hpernaa@uwasa.fi

+358 294498236

Petri Uusikylä

PhD, Political Science

Researcher
The emergence of situational awareness in complex governance processes

School of Management,
University of Vaasa

petri.uusikyla@uwasa.fi